A New Venue for the Republicans?

I attended my first Monster Truck event last night. It was an interesting event to say the least. I never, ever, thought I would actually be at one of these type of events – not really my idea of a good time. Nothing bad about it, but there are just some things that don’t interest me.

My brother-in-law bought tickets for my young son as a Christmas present and he decided to involve myself, my wife and my father-in-law in the joy. We actually had a pretty good time, but not sure my hearing will return anytime soon. Most of the trucks wrecked in some respect before the end of the event – which is what everyone was looking for, including our group.

The night started out with the obigitory “God Bless the USA” by Lee Greenwood (recorded) followed by the National Anthem. Flags were waiving and people were shouting “I Love the USA”. A thought occured to me at that moment while looking at the 50,000 other people in the Dome that this would be a great audience for some conservative candidate to attract a whole portion of the public.

Four years ago in the 2004 election the buzz group was “Nascar Dads” and I’m sure this group is still relavent today. Maybe call them “Monster Truck Families”. Everyone, except for myself, had the shirts, hats, stuffed toys, etc., and they all had their favorites. It had a real feel of Professional Wrestling, with more legitimacy.

I’m not saying that all of these people would actually vote, but this has to be a good venue to attract votes.

Of course, this is just my opinion.

Rob’s Rant
Leave a Reply

