If Green is In, I’m Out

I’m all for conservation. Conserving our parks, making sure we have clean water, reducing pollution – those things are great. I think most rational people agree with my sentiment.

What I am really getting tired of is seeing, hearing and reading about all this “Green” stuff. I’m the type of person who goes the other direction of someone is doing something or suggesting that I do something. If going “Green” means that it will inconvenience me or cost me more money, I’m out.

I don’t buy into all the Global Warming hysteria. There is no credible evidence that Man and our technology has affected the temperature of the planet (minus of course all the sanctimonius Hollywood stars touting the genius of Algore). Many climatologists are actually talking about Global Cooling. Actually, back in the 70’s, this was the hip term. (See Newsweek article from 1974 – http://denisdutton.com/newsweek_coolingworld.pdf). A great history of the warming and cooling from the Business and Media Institute (http://www.businessandmedia.org/specialreports/2006/fireandice/FireandIce.pdf).

Bottom line is that we are very arrogant if we believe we can actually affect the temperature of the planet. This stuff is cyclical. Considering that we are freezing in 10 inches of snow here in the Midwest, a little global warming would be appreciated.
Get the facts and stop bothering me about going Green.

Of course, this is just my opinion.

Rob’s Rant

Leave a Reply

