Don’t Take My TV!!!

Have we really sunk to the place where TV is a “Right” and not a “Choice”?

I have been watching the commercials about the digital transition that the government is completing next month. The commercials alerting the huddled masses of this fact offer a coupon for a converter box to anyone who needs one. My wife and I keep asking ourselves, “Is this really a needed program”?

Some Americans have been trained to automatically ask for a handout instead of a hand-up. If we had less TV and replaced it with other activities – family and friend time, conversing with others and gasp…reading, we wouldn’t need to subsidize TV viewing. To me, this is un-American to expect the government to make sure you don’t miss American Idol. Don’t get me wrong, I watch TV from time to time, but I’m not asking for the government to pay for a converter box.

Don’t fear though, the Messiah is talking about possibly extending the deadline until this summer. I suppose that two years is not enough time for the unwashed (and I mean unwashed) of us to plan ahead. I suppose that this would entail prying the backside off of the couch to go and get the converter box…way too much to ask. Might miss something on TV.

Of course, that is just my opinion.

Rob’s Rant

Leave a Reply

