Have A Drink on Me!

beersummitMaybe I’m just a prude, but the President calling two people to the White House to have a beer so they can “get along” seems a little ridiculous and un-Presidential, especially when the “controversy” was perpetuated by Mr. Obama himself.  We all have heard his comments on the affair saying that the Cambridge Police acted “stupidly” when dealing with the incident.  Nice.  Commenting on something that involved a black individual and a cop must mean the cop is a racist, right? 

If Obama would have kept his mouth shut until he actually knew ALLthe details this wouldn’t have been quite as big as it became.  The fact that he is black is immaterial.  The fact that he is an elitist Harvard Professor is immaterial.  The officer responded to a call, questioned Mr. Gates, Mr. Gates became beligerant, Mr. Gates was arrested.  Do you really think we would have heard about this if Mr. Gates was a pasty white fellow like myself?  I think not!

Well, here’s the audio of the 911 call that evening:

Call me an idiot, but I didn’t hear any racism in that call or from any of the interaction between Mr. Gates and the Police Officer that has been reported.  For crying out loud, there was a black officer present on the scene.  Don’t you think he would have raised a stink if there actually were some charge of racism?  Just a crazy thought on my part.

To the real point of this post, I don’t get the “Beer Summit” thing at the White House.  Don’t we have more pressing issues in this country?  I thought all this talk of racism was over now that we elected the first black President.  Guess not.

I can say that I would welcome an officer like Sgt. Crowley to my town.  He is calm, collected and fair minded in his approach to the situation

All I can think of…did they drink an American made beer (by and American beer company)?  Not unless it was Sam Adams.

Of course, this is just my opinion.

Rob’s Rant

Leave a Reply

