Government Control at Cars.gov

I ran across this video from the Glenn Beck show and originally thought it was just an interesting talk about the “Cash for Clunkers” program and how well it was working.  The discussion took a different twist when Glenn and his guest, Kimberly Guilfoyle, started talking about a privacy statement that appears when a dealer logs into the Cars.gov system.  Here is the statement:

This application provides access to the DoT CARS system. When logged on to the CARS system, your computer is considered a Federal computer system and is the property of the U.S. Government. Any or all uses of this system and all files on this system may be monitored, recorded, copied, audited, inspected, and disclosed to authorized CARS, DoT, and law enforcement personnel, as well as authorized officials of other agencies, both domestic and foreign.

How scary is that?  What’s next, a Vulcan Mind Meld when you go to register that same car?

Of course, this is just my opinion.

Rob’s Rant

6 Responses

  1. That show from Glenn Beck made me seriously wonder whether Glenn has finally ran out of things to say. 100% of the show was just bogus nonsense. I am surprised that you, as a semi-tech guy, would fall for this show.

    The bottom line on this is: your rights have not changed one iota;

    I am not even going to get into whether this is a Rep or Dem issue. The feds under either party have always had the right to take your computer (called a subpoena). They can also grab logs of your calls and web site visits.

    The power to subpoena records goes back to the 1700s.

    The worst egregious of your rights came with suspension of habeas corpus in the 2006.

    If the government really wanted to view your online activity they would look at your web activity (web logs), or the calls you make, or whom you associate with.

    If the government really wanted your computer, they would not use cars.gov. They already have that power.

    cars.gov is used by car dealers to access the clunkers program. It is hardly used by regular individuals. Even if it is, it is likely used by people who own clunkers — the least likely to own a computer.

    The language in the warning may sound ominous but it is hardly a new loss of rights.

    By the way: where are you in the movement to restore the right of habeas corpus?

  2. You have been seriously duped by Glenn Beck. What I am going to describe here will reassert my original contention that has seriously made me wonder about Glenn Beck.

    — cars.gov background is green; the page demonstrated on the show is blue (the blue side is the dealer, not consumer side)..

    — Glenn states “do not try this at home” and then makes it a point that he is using someone else computer.

    — Subtlety, Glenn then states “dealers go to,” reinforcing that the page goes to dealers only.

    — to get to the onerous page, a dealer would have to go to http://www.cars.gov/index.php/dealersupport

    — there is no link on the dealers page to the dealersupport page

    — to get this warning, you have to go to http://www.cars.gov/dealersupport/user-guide, click submit transaction

    — this then takes you out of cars.gov and requires you to log on to a secure payments server. At this point you ARE on a federal system. The warning makes a great deal of sense.

    The warning specifically says something completely different than what Genn Beck says. It specifically states:

    This application provides access to the DoT CARS system. When logged on to the CARS system, your computer is considered a Federal computer system and is the property of the U.S. government… Any or all uses of this system and all files on this system may be intercepted, monitored, recorded, copied, audited, inspected, and disclosed to authorized CARS, …

    I highlighted two parts of it:

    When logged on to the CARS system not what you do in your private life, a big distinction.

    Any or all uses of this system and all files on this system refers to the system you are connected to, not your system.

    Last time we had as serious a misdirection of news was when Dan Rather reported on the Killian documents. These were controversial and ultimately forgeries that were critical of George Bush’s National Guard service.

    I think it’s time for Glenn Beck to resign.

    • You obviously have more time on your hands and I do! Judging from the sheer number of your comments on this site along with those on The Great Illuminator (or any more on a number of other websites), I’m surprised you can get anything productive done during your day.

      I have no idea where to begin, but I’ll try to address the bullet points. I’m sure I’ll miss something, but feel free to let me know, in your spare time, where I have gone awry.

      That show from Glenn Beck made me seriously wonder whether Glenn has finally ran out of things to say. 100% of the show was just bogus nonsense. I am surprised that you, as a semi-tech guy, would fall for this show.

      Being a “semi-tech guy”, as you say it, has nothing to do with my interest with Glenn Beck. Not sure how that has anything to do with it. I like the kind of crazy nature of his show (when I can actually see it – it’s way too early in the day). Agree to disagree about Beck.

      The bottom line on this is: your rights have not changed one iota

      I never said it did. My question was why this statement appeared on a website for a government program. Regardless of who they are targeting (dealers in this case), why is a statement like this relevant?

      You have been seriously duped by Glenn Beck. What I am going to describe here will reassert my original contention that has seriously made me wonder about Glenn Beck.

      I guess so. I suppose that all of us in flyover country are not quite as sophisticated as you gents out east.

      Last time we had as serious a misdirection of news was when Dan Rather reported on the Killian documents. These were controversial and ultimately forgeries that were critical of George Bush’s National Guard service.

      And if that’s the case here there will be some huge investigation, maybe we could call it “Carsgate” since no one can come up with any other clever name since Watergate. (I wonder how many people know that The Watergate is a hotel.)

      I think it’s time for Glenn Beck to resign.

      Then I expect to see you start the campaign. Good luck on your new venture.

  3. Google stuff before you post.

    The language “Any or all uses … may be monitored, recorded, copied, …” appears in at least 800 systems. The earliest use is 2001. Some systems are DOT and DOE. This is their standard language and was obviously used during Bush Admin.

    There comes a time in a man’s life when they have to decide whether they are going to be DUPPED or whether they are going to move on. This is one of those times for you. Stay with Glenn Beck and listen to poorly researched fantasy government conspiracy theories or demand that the media you listen to be accurate.

    From your excessively dismissive reply above I can guess that living in a fantasy bubble of made up news is the most you demand.

    Hey, whatever get you through it all.

    • The language “Any or all uses … may be monitored, recorded, copied, …” appears in at least 800 systems. The earliest use is 2001. Some systems are DOT and DOE. This is their standard language and was obviously used during Bush Admin.

      I could care less who else uses the phrase or where it started or how far back its use goes. Standard language or not, it’s a little excessive to say the least. Googling it would not change my mind.

      There comes a time in a man’s life when they have to decide whether they are going to be DUPPED or whether they are going to move on. This is one of those times for you. Stay with Glenn Beck and listen to poorly researched fantasy government conspiracy theories or demand that the media you listen to be accurate.

      You mean DUPED, right? Just checking since you seem to point out my occasional spelling error.

      I realize you don’t like Mr. Beck. He is sensational and prone to wild fits at times. I think your comment goes a little deeper than Beck – more so with your hatred of FoxNews. I know you are an NPR guy, which is fine. I’d rather put hot pokers into my eyes than be forced to listen to NPR, but whatever gets you by.

      Personally, I like both informative and entertaining news and news programs. It’s much more interesting. If I want to read about something I’ll go to my many sources I check online.

      I’m fine with your tone getting a little snippy. I’ve always allowed you to blather on with your information and theories about various topics as I think it’s interesting. It’s rare we agree, but that’s alright with me. I’m amazed you actually spend the time to comment on this personal rant site, but whatever you feel like doing is fine with me – I’m out here whether I receive feedback or not (I think we covered this a couple of months ago.) As I have said what seems like a thousand times before – this is an opinion site – my opinion.

      I’ll stick with my bubble and you can stick with your bubble.

  4. Personally, I like both informative and entertaining news and news programs.

    If it is made up, it isn’t informative.

    I had you pegged for a guy who would want accurate news.

Leave a Reply

