The National Parks Are Racist!

Yes, I couldn’t believe it either.  How could all of those sweet and innocent National Parks be racist?  Yellowstone, Yosemite, Smoky Mountains….say it ain’t so!

According to this gentleman, evidently the only African American Park Ranger in the National Park System, blacks don’t visit the parks because of…..wait for it……wait for it……RACISM! 

Now I really don’t think this is a racist issue dating back to the time of slavery in America.  To me this is more of a marketing issue – or lack thereof.  If you want to attract a particular group of people to your specific park, advertise to that group and convince them why they should take their time to visit.  It’s a revolutionary concept called PROMOTION.  Many businesses do it.  It’s not that hard.

I’m all for everyone visiting the National Parks.  They are beautiful and a national treasure.  I have not been to Yosemite or Yellowstone, but I plan on visiting both someday.  The United States has some of the most beautiful scenery in the world and thankfully long range thinkers like Thomas Jefferson and Teddy Roosevelt recognized the need. 

To address this specific situation, I’m really sick of everything being about the “original sin” of slavery and if you decide to oppose that point of view then you are a racist.   I guess I’m a racist.  Didn’t know it, but I guess that is what it’s come to. 

Why are more black people not visiting national parks?  Maybe they just don’t want to!  Novel concept I know, but it’s a possibility.

Of course, this is just my opinion.

Rob’s Rant

Leave a Reply

