Black Players May Boycott Rush’s Rams

rush_cigar1Being from St. Louis, I am always curious what is happening to our local teams.  I don’t happen to be a Rams fan, but I always want them to do well.  The family that owns the team has been looking for a buyer since the death of Georgia Frontiere in 2008.  They just don’t have a passion for an NFL team.  Strange but true.

The Rams have been a dog of a team for several years going through coaches and players like poop through a goose.  Now a group headed by Dave Checketts and radio talk show host Rush Limbaugh is exploring buying the beleaguered Rams organization.  Speaking as an NFL fan this seems like a great match.  Checketts owns several sports franchises including the St. Louis Blues Hockey team.  Limbaugh is a long time NFL fan and regularly takes up broadcast time during the football season discussing games.  Both of these guys probably have a better handle on running a team than the collective knowledge base of the current ownership AND coaching staff.  From the team results for the past several years I think my comments are justified.

When I heard the rumors that Rush might be part of a group to buy the Rams, I knew there would be some kind of “controversy.”  It seems a group of black players has issues with a possible sale to Limbaugh.  From Sports Illustrated online:

Mathias Kiwanuka loves his former defensive coordinator Steve Spagnuolo, but the Giants’ defensive end says he will never play for Spagnuolo’s Rams if Rush Limbaugh purchases the team. Kiwanuka and the Jets’ Bart Scott made it clear Thursday that they would never play for the Rams or any team owned by the controversial conservative radio host.

“All I know is from the last comment I heard, he said in (President) Obama’s America, white kids are getting beat up on the bus while black kids are chanting ‘right on,'” Kiwanuka told The Daily News. “I mean, I don’t want anything to do with a team that he has any part of. He can do whatever he wants, it is a free country. But if it goes through, I can tell you where I am not going to play.” Read more: http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2009/morning-jolt/10/09/friday.10.09/index.html#ixzz0TXXWKeTL

So much for everyone getting along.  Mr. Kiwanuka, if you are that short sided, stay in New York. 

I say “Go for it,” Rush.   Don’t worry about the whiney fringe that doesn’t understand the economics and business side of professional sports.  It’s results on the field that count and if you have an involved ownership that has the best interests of the team as the primary motivation, who cares who writes the checks.  The Rams need all the advise they can get.  Last time I checked they were 3 and 17 in their last 20 games.  Sounds like overhaul time to me.

I wonder if Rush will have to stop rooting for his beloved Steelers.  We’ll see.

Of course, this is just my opinion.

Rob’s Rant

31 Responses

  1. hmmm…

  2. […] Black Players May Boycott Rush’s Rams …been looking for a buyer since the death of Georgia Frontiere in 2008.  They just don’t have a passion for an BNFL/B team.  Strange but true. AKPC_IDS += "351,";Popularity: unranked [?] […]

  3. I agree. The 200 lb overweight, never threw a ball, never coached a game knows a lot more than the players and coaches that play it every day.

    If a player can’t get brow beaten by a loudmouth, then heck they aren’t just in it for the paycheck.

    You have got to be kidding.

  4. I agree. The 200 lb overweight, never threw a ball, never coached a game knows a lot more than the players and coaches that play it every day.

    This makes no sense Mike.

    Where in this post did I mention, or has anyone mentioned, that Rush knows more about football than the players or the coaches? The post was about a player that indicated he would not play for a team owned by Rush. He has a voice to make the comment and I also have a voice to indicate how shallow the statement was and is.

    The NFL is a business. You have to put an effective product on the field to not only win games, but to sell the tickets, merchandise, food, etc., etc. to pay the salaries and make a return on investment. Many owners have the monetary resources to purchase a team but not as much knowledge in the game. A group like Checketts and Limbaugh would be a great thing for the St. Louis Rams.

    Since when is 200 pounds overweight? I should have expected you to go down the insult route when you have no substance.

    If a player can’t get brow beaten by a loudmouth, then heck they aren’t just in it for the paycheck.

    ???

    I’ll assume by the time stamp that you were up too late or got up too early and neglected your AM coffee.

    This is sports and you have to produce. I don’t see any “brow beating” in this instance, but there should be from the ownership on down if a player is not playing up to potential. That’s business. This is not the Boy Scouts where everyone gets to participate.

    You have got to be kidding.

    Nope. The fact that you actually took the time to make a comment like this seems a little ridiculous to me, but it’s your time.

  5. where in this post did I mention, or has anyone mentioned, that Rush knows more about football than the players or the coaches?

    Well Rob, this is where in your post you said, specifically, that Rush and Checketts “have a better handle on running a team than the collective knowledge base of the current ownership AND coaching staff.”

    Football is a business

    Football is a business. The owners have to attract or groom the best players to win on the field, and sell all of the other stuff. Part of the “attract” part is not to make racially charges comments that makes players not want to come to your organization, as Rush has learned.

    Your post was how players should work for the organization regardless of the owner’s comments. I say you are a bit naive if you think players are going to want to work for a racial bully like Rush.

    People work for far more than the money alone. They work to be proud of their achievements. Precisely because it is a business, it should be about a great and welcoming organization. Rush is not.

  6. Well Rob, this is where in your post you said, specifically, that Rush and Checketts “have a better handle on running a team than the collective knowledge base of the current ownership AND coaching staff.”

    Sorry, I forget I have to be very specific with you. The Rams are pathetic in all ways, but this comment was tongue-in-cheek, but I wonder if he does really have more knowledge of football than the current crop at Rams park. I may know more than these guys.

    Football is a business. The owners have to attract or groom the best players to win on the field, and sell all of the other stuff. Part of the “attract” part is not to make racially charges comments that makes players not want to come to your organization, as Rush has learned.

    I guess that depends on your perspective. You must listen to Rush much more than I as I have missed those rationally charged comments.

    Your post was how players should work for the organization regardless of the owner’s comments. I say you are a bit naive if you think players are going to want to work for a racial bully like Rush.

    Again, don’t see it.

    People work for far more than the money alone. They work to be proud of their achievements. Precisely because it is a business, it should be about a great and welcoming organization. Rush is not.

    While this is true (that people work for more than money), I guess we’ll have to see if it makes any difference at all if the deal goes through. . The Rams are in serious need of some major management changes. If Rush and Checketts do the job, no one in St. Louis will care – least of all the players.

  7. rationally?

    Rush’s comments are all over youtube, and they are all over other networks. Maybe they aren’t on Fox. Just .13 seconds (so says Google) and you could have confirmed the story. The exact quote is “In Obama’s America – White Kids Now Get Beat Up By Blacks”

    This is purely racist. Obama is in no way responsible for crime on a school bus in Illinois. Nor would he have encouraged this behavior. Rush is playing the race card. He is saying that Obama has turned the tables – whites have to fear everyone now.

    So, the guy who talks football but never threw a ball, the guy who talks about what a player should have done, but never coached a game, the guy whose sole contribution to football is to alienate players, the guy who is 200lbs overweight (more or less, give or take 30lbs. He weighs more that 350 just measuring the girth), a know nothing will suddenly save your team?

    How about hiring a real coach with some experience. Just a suggestion.

    btw: I would appreciate your not going down the path of personal insults as you have been. I know you can dish it out but you can’t take it?

  8. Rush’s comments are all over youtube, and they are all over other networks. Maybe they aren’t on Fox. Just .13 seconds (so says Google) and you could have confirmed the story. The exact quote is “In Obama’s America – White Kids Now Get Beat Up By Blacks”

    Ahh, I should have known that was the comment you were referring to. I don’t see that as a racist comment. Difference of opinion I suppose.

    So, the guy who talks football but never threw a ball, the guy who talks about what a player should have done, but never coached a game, the guy whose sole contribution to football is to alienate players, the guy who is 200lbs overweight (more or less, give or take 30lbs. He weighs more that 350 just measuring the girth), a know nothing will suddenly save your team?

    Talk about insults. Not that I really care, but have you seen Rush lately? Utilizing your Google prowess, it took about .04 seconds to find out that he has lost around 90 lbs. Not that this really has anything to do with anything – sounds like you are prejudiced against heavy people. Are you a weightiest???

    How about hiring a real coach with some experience. Just a suggestion

    That is a good suggestion, but they have done that already. The whole team needs to be reworked from the top on down. I’m not a Rams fan but would like to see them do well.

    btw: I would appreciate your not going down the path of personal insults as you have been. I know you can dish it out but you can’t take it?

    btw: you are hyper sensitive about everything. Insults? You are the king of insulting behavior but never seem to notice it on your end. Take your own advice – look in the mirror. I’ll wait…..

    I know this is part of your tactic when you have nothing else to day, OR, if you don’t get the answer you seem to want. If you really wanted insulting behavior, I could do that but I choose to stay above you my friend. Feel free to continue your tactic as I will be glad to show any other readers your slanted views.

  9. The point about weight is that he is hardly in shape. I guess I need to be much more specific with you.

    The point about racism, I am not surprised that you don’t happen think Rush’s comments are racist. The point of your post and the story in general is that the players whom you quote think he is racist. And they are the ones whose opinions count in this story.

    (btw: I happen to think he is racist, and that he is race baiting).

    About the insults, let me be specific: your constantly giving me a jab or two. It won’t drive whether I post or not. What it will do is that I’ll point them out so your readers can see the level and quality of your rhetoric. It’s all up to you.

  10. Now, to keep it on track, you said, about hiring a good manager: “That is a good suggestion, but they have done that already. The whole team needs to be reworked from the top on down. I’m not a Rams fan but would like to see them do well.”

    A few comments:

    – it isn’t a good manager if he can’t rework the team. Try another manager. Keep trying professionals until you find the right one.

    – Rush isn’t going to do better. A Monday morning quarterback is worth absolutely nothing.

  11. The point about weight is that he is hardly in shape. I guess I need to be much more specific with you.

    I guess so and I’d be fine with you being more specific adn your initial comments were more of an insult. I think that bringing up Rush’s weight -high or low – is low on your part and others that continue to do this. It lacks substance and has nothing to do with ability to invest in a football team. I honestly don’t care if you decide to stoop to that level.

    I happen to think he is racist, and that he is race baiting

    I’m not surprised you feel that way. Just as a matter of balance I assume you think the same of the real race baiters like Sharpton and Jackson.

    About the insults, let me be specific: your constantly giving me a jab or two. It won’t drive whether I post or not. What it will do is that I’ll point them out so your readers can see the level and quality of your rhetoric. It’s all up to you.

    I really don’t think I insult you, you just can’t take any ribbing of any sort. As I stated, you are hypersensitive about everything.

    it isn’t a good manager if he can’t rework the team. Try another manager. Keep trying professionals until you find the right one.

    I would agree, but at some point you have to look above the coach. New ownership can only be a good thing. If you have an owner that actually has a passion for the sport – all the better.

    Rush isn’t going to do better. A Monday morning quarterback is worth absolutely nothing.

    We’ll see. With Checketts it has to be good regardless if Rush is involved.

  12. Rush’s weight is a factual matter. His weight has nothing to do with his ability to finance a team. Instead, and I guess my being specific wasn’t enough, it was used to demonstrate that an out of shape, never threw a ball guy isn’t a football expert – no matter how many quaaludes he took watching a game.

    The comment is in there to demonstrate another point: you wouldn’t accept a convicted drug user into the NFL, except in this case. It couldn’t possibly be because he is rich, white, and a conservative icon.

    You can read the above as it is intended. I think Rush is imperfect and I don’t see him as a good owner for any team in the NFL because of his heavy baggage.

  13. But if he were a murderer he could be a player.

    What has he been convicted of??? Have I missed some breaking news?

  14. I don’t know who you are referring to as the or a murderer. Enlighten me.

    By my standards, Rush the addict and which ever player you are referring to should not be allowed to play, coach, or own any part of the NFL.

    Given your glee over Rush the addict, I doubt you’d agree.

  15. Ray Lewis and Leonard Little are two players that come to mind. Little was in a car and drunk, but murder is murder.

    As far as substance abuse in sports, come on Mike, this is all too commonplace. I have no problem with a player serving his time for an offense (like Michael Vick and the dog fighting thing) and being allowed to come back.

    Rush is an addict. No real news there. The point is, who cares. In my mind it does not preclude investment in an NFL franchise any more than blind investing in any other company. I don’t see a problem here.

    No one would oppose Rush on any grounds other than pure bias. I honestly don’t care one way or another, but this issue is not about anything more than politics.

    So, what was Rush convicted of? Still waiting on that answer.

  16. Rush dropped by Checketts for controversial remarks
    http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2009/football/nfl/10/14/limbaugh/index.html

    According to league sources, Limbaugh comes with too much troubling baggage in terms of his outspoken views that often intersect the divisive issues of politics and race in America.

    Not just Black players. It is interesting to me that you focused on race.

  17. All politics and no substance.

    After all the fabricated quotes that have been thrown out there along with the pontificating congress people and top notch race baiters like Sharpton and Jackson, I’m not surprised that the potential ownership group would get cold feet. I personally think they are weenies by backing down to the pressure, but that’s their call. From what I have heard on our talk shows here in St. Louis, Rush would have had a minority role within the ownership group.

    When I posted the story the only dissent was from a group of black players. Only liberals think of race in the whole scheme of things. I didn’t take it there, it was there already. Nice try Mike.

    This whole affair illustrates a sad state of affairs when a small minority of individuals can actually shape opinion. I wonder if there will be as much scrutiny in future NFL deals. Time will tell.

  18. Now, according to you, Rush’s problems are due to Al Sharpton. They are not even one bit due to Rush. Never! Blame everyone but the culprit.How brilliant!

    According to you, only liberals think race – that’s why a conservative blogger like yourself posts “Black players …” The only who has introduced race here is you.

    Keeping the same pattern of blaming everyone, it’s liberal’s faults. Brilliant!

    How about this for a little sober medicine:

    – you posted about race in discussion on Rush, a race issue that Rush brought upon himself. Al Sharpton didn’t bait him into it – he wasn’t even involved.

    – I mentioned that Rush was too controversial, plus he knows nothing about football, that he would wind up being a divisive force.

    – Rush is off the ownership roster because he is too divisive.

    Don’t say I didn’t see it coming.

  19. Thanks for noticing my brilliance.

    According to you, only liberals think race – that’s why a conservative blogger like yourself posts “Black players …” The only who has introduced race here is you.

    It was part of the story that was quoted and a black player was complaining. Seemed appropriate to me.

    Obviously you did not watch all the coverage when Sharpton and Jackson came out of the woodwork and petitioned the NFL.

    Rush is a controversial figure and the plan seemed doomed from the very start. Rush does know quite a lot about football and that would help the Rams in the front office with business decisions. I wouldn’t want him as a coach, but that is not what was proposed.

    Keeping the same pattern of blaming everyone, it’s liberal’s faults. Brilliant!

    I never said it was all a liberal conspiracy. What I did say was, “This whole affair illustrates a sad state of affairs when a small minority of individuals can actually shape opinion. I wonder if there will be as much scrutiny in future NFL deals.”

  20. What you said was that black players were “…the whiney fringe that doesn’t understand the economics and business side of professional sports.”

    I think later your point was that they should all work for Rush regardless of his offensive comments.

  21. Talk about needle in a needle. It must have been hard to shoe horn that into your point. You must be tired.

    What you said was that black players were “…the whiney fringe that doesn’t understand the economics and business side of professional sports.”

    Mr. Kiwanuka was the only one record as complaining. I would have never known he was black unless the source made it known. He was the whiney fringe and I still believe that those opposed to the deal were and are on the fringe. This would have never blown up to the heights that it did without the help of “journalists” like Bryan Burwell along with the race merchants. It is interesting to me how easy it was to fabricate a quote, put it out there as genuine and convince everyone that Rush is a racist.

    I think later your point was that they should all work for Rush regardless of his offensive comments.

    Offensive comments are relative to your point of view. I don’t think any of his views should be a qualification, or in this case a reason, for denial of inclusion. It should have been handled by the Rams and league.

    The whole thing is moot now.

  22. Offensive to the black players featured in your post, not whether Rush’s comments were offensive to you or me.

    Your explanation for the use of the headline “Black Players May Boycott Rush’s Rams” betrays your explanation that you did not know that Mathias Kiwanuka was black. Your headline knew.

    You go on to quote that Mathias Kiwanuka would boycott playing for the Rams because of Rush’s comments, and then you lecture about how he needs to play despite Rush’s comments so the front office can make lots of money. It’s a business and Kiwanuka must focus on Rush’s profits, not his principles.

    Although you try to pin the race issue on Sharpton, the use of race in a comment was initiated by Rush. To paint Sharpton now as the race baiter is disingenuous.

    More interesting than placing blame on the race issue everywhere except where it belongs, and more interesting than your focus on race and your own role in counseling players to ignore their principles, is your call for owners to pretend that everyone’s views on race and principles matter not. They are weenies, says you.

    There are the people in your post that have principles and the guts to stick to them, they are in order of introduction: Mathias Kiwanuka (won’t play for a racist), Al Sharpton (calling it like it is), and Checketts (who at least recognizes respect for others). Curiously you and Rush aren’t on that list.

    In part you are not on that list because you “don’t see it,” your excuse for not admitting it.

    Liberal principles no less!

  23. Your explanation for the use of the headline “Black Players May Boycott Rush’s Rams” betrays your explanation that you did not know that Mathias Kiwanuka was black. Your headline knew.

    I knew Kiwanuka was black because the source indicated this, as I stated in the last comment. Here’s the link again since you missed it: http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2009/morning-jolt/10/09/friday.10.09/index.html#ixzz0TXXWKeTL

    You go on to quote that Mathias Kiwanuka would boycott playing for the Rams because of Rush’s comments, and then you lecture about how he needs to play despite Rush’s comments so the front office can make lots of money. It’s a business and Kiwanuka must focus on Rush’s profits, not his principles.

    I think the whole argument is misplaced. Whether you agree with Rush or not on any issue should have no bearing on whether he invests in an NFL team or anywhere else. Apples and oranges in my book.

    There was an interesting point made by one of our local radio hosts – Jamie Allman – that anyone should have the opportunity to purchase anything in this country. If Farrakhan would want to purchase the Rams or any other team, then fine. No one would buy tickets, but he would own the team. Capitalism at its finest.

    Although you try to pin the race issue on Sharpton, the use of race in a comment was initiated by Rush. To paint Sharpton now as the race baiter is disingenuous.

    I would disagree.

    More interesting than placing blame on the race issue everywhere except where it belongs, and more interesting than your focus on race and your own role in counseling players to ignore their principles, is your call for owners to pretend that everyone’s views on race and principles matter not. They are weenies, says you.

    I would disagree on this assessment also. Players are welcome to indicate their views, but most of their views were based on false information. I would love to see players actually walk out and refuse to be paid the millions of players they are paid.

    Dave Checketts is the weenie. When things got hot, he gave in to the race baiters and uninformed.

    There are the people in your post that have principles and the guts to stick to them, they are in order of introduction: Mathias Kiwanuka (won’t play for a racist), Al Sharpton (calling it like it is), and Checketts (who at least recognizes respect for others). Curiously you and Rush aren’t on that list. In part you are not on that list because you “don’t see it,” your excuse for not admitting it.

    I don’t care to be on any list and I think this whole thing is bunk. I don’t think this has anything to do with principles, I think it’s indicative of an uninformed minority.

  24. You cannot disagree with a fact: Rush spoke before Sharpton. My comment was that “the use of race in a comment was initiated by Rush.” Your reply: you disagree.

    Anyone can buy anything. There’s never been a rule against it. Buy is different from will anyone want to work for you. More to the point, Rush’s front office experience isn’t business. His business model is shout and money pours in. Football is a little different from that.

    Basic capitalism: Anyone can buy anything. Also basic capitalism: there are other places to work – players don’t need to work for a racist.

    Since everyone involved wants no part of Rush, in what way are they the minority?

    And since everyone heard the same thing you did: “In Obama’s America – White Kids Now Get Beat Up By Blacks” how are they uninformed?

    And how are you so much more informed than the people who are making the deal?

    I can tell you how players can move on while making millions. Next post.

  25. You cannot disagree with a fact: Rush spoke before Sharpton. My comment was that “the use of race in a comment was initiated by Rush.” Your reply: you disagree.

    My opinion has not changed. I feel I answered this already and don’t feel like rehashing it yet again.

    Anyone can buy anything. There’s never been a rule against it. Buy is different from will anyone want to work for you. More to the point, Rush’s front office experience isn’t business. His business model is shout and money pours in. Football is a little different from that.

    So, in your idea of investment everyone should know everything about all the investments they hold. Buying a minority stake in an NFL team is an investment meant to make money. Indications from Checketts are that Rush would have simply been an investor and not a decision maker. He was one of several that were there because they had the money.

    Since you mentioned his business skills, seem to me that all of his ancillary businesses made and do make money. Website, newsletters, ties, etc.

    Basic capitalism: Anyone can buy anything. Also basic capitalism: there are other places to work – players don’t need to work for a racist.

    To accept this statement I would have to accept that Rush is a racist. Show me the evidence.

    Players can work for anyone they want, that is true, but I seriously doubt in the end that players making millions of dollars to play a game would really care who owns the team as long as their paycheck doesn’t bounce. Guess we’ll never know.

    Since everyone involved wants no part of Rush, in what way are they the minority?

    Everyone who? Have we heard from people who would welcome him or those who don’t care? Checketts caved, but he approached Rush to be a part of the group.

    And since everyone heard the same thing you did: “In Obama’s America – White Kids Now Get Beat Up By Blacks” how are they uninformed?

    Is this not true in the instance he was referring to? What is racist about that statement?

    And how are you so much more informed than the people who are making the deal?

    Who said I was? I expressed my opinion that this was much more than just a few players that had limited information and decided to get in front of the mics.

    I also think that this is a case that is very dangerous for anyone who expresses some type of opinion contrary to another person can be smeared in the media on on the internet.

    I can tell you how players can move on while making millions. Next post.

    I can’t wait.

  26. I think everyone wants (and should) know as much about who or what they are investing in. In this case, the information is public, and it involves a highly controversial, some would say overtly racist, figure.

    It is interesting that before we were all uninformed, now suddenly you show your disdain by asking if we know who we are investing in. You are all over the map on this one.

    Rush’s business skills are pretty much limited to being a loudmouth. If he were to stop talking and all of his ancillary business would dry up. It takes no skills to outsource a call center and take orders.

    Now real business skills would be to parlay a good head start into the best fulfillment business in America. He hasn’t, he won’t, and he doesn’t have the skills to do it.

    Let’s take up what is racist about Rush’s comment: “In Obama’s America – White Kids Now Get Beat Up By Blacks.”

    – I must say if you can’t see it then you are grossly insensitive to common sense issues of race and respect

    – each year there are thousands of race related crimes: beatings, murder, etc… The historical trend has been white crimes against blacks (see skin heads if you doubt this)

    – so for anyone to say it has all turned around is first a lie, and second it is trying to perpetuate the idea that blacks now are taking their revenge. It is race baiting at a level not see since the 1950s.

    – no one would ever say in Bush’s America White kids beat up blacks, or even black kids beat up whites, so why say Obama? It is trying to suggest that Obama, a black man, is somehow orchestrating this.

    – Rush didn’t say “in this instance” Rush said in America this is now going on. Had Rush spoken of a single instance it would have been a different story.

    Rush is a public figure. People say all kinds of things about public figures. How about all of the talk about Hillary Clinton being a dike and Bil murdering people. How about what you call Obama on this blog. Are you the same guy who called Joe [Biden] slow?

    Now you say it is a “very dangerous for anyone who expresses some type of opinion contrary to another person can be smeared in the media [and] on the internet.”

    I expect all good comments about Obama from now on.

    As for the million dollar players getting out of their contracts. I know when your tone is off putting I now that you are feeling the heat. I’ll post anyway.

    Players work have a contract and play for a team. They have an incentive to perform well so it ups their value in contract negotiations. To break the contract all they need to do is be very vocal about their dislikes. There will be a standoff with the front office. They can then chose when they want to perform and when they want to fumble. One bad play and the message at the front office is that they make the entire organization lose money. Now think about 4-5 players who have differences with the front office.

    It’s a business. You’ve got to keep your employees happy.

  27. The NFL is full of Marxists and Leftists and Union Thugs. Everyone needs to boycott the NFL until they eliminate their anti-conservative bias. Football is for REAL Americans and we deserve to have REAL AMERICAN FOOTBALL!

  28. I think everyone wants (and should) know as much about who or what they are investing in. In this case, the information is public, and it involves a highly controversial, some would say overtly racist, figure.

    The information was fabricated and only a select few truly believe Rush is a racist. Ask his call screener, he’s black. He’ll tell you the opposite.

    It is interesting that before we were all uninformed, now suddenly you show your disdain by asking if we know who we are investing in. You are all over the map on this one.

    I have no idea what point you are making here. Maybe you can clarify the sentence.

    Rush’s business skills are pretty much limited to being a loudmouth. If he were to stop talking and all of his ancillary business would dry up. It takes no skills to outsource a call center and take orders.

    His skills are as a communicator on the radio much like all others on the radio. He just happens to be the most popular in that format. I would agree that his businesses are related to his success on the radio, but radio is a business. No advertisers – no show. You have to put out a quality product that will entice people to listen – that is the business side. I would never be able to do a radio show as I don’t have that talent. He does and makes the most of it.

    Now real business skills would be to parlay a good head start into the best fulfillment business in America. He hasn’t, he won’t, and he doesn’t have the skills to do it.

    Great, but why would he want to?

    I must say if you can’t see it then you are grossly insensitive to common sense issues of race and respect

    I guess that’s me, the insensitive one without common sense. You forgot that I am also insulting and elitist. Why not throw it all in there Mike!

    each year there are thousands of race related crimes: beatings, murder, etc… The historical trend has been white crimes against blacks (see skin heads if you doubt this)

    I don’t doubt there are race related crimes – white on black, black on white, black on black. So what? To me, crime is crime no matter your skin color. It’s just crime – plain and simple. No other explanation necessary.

    so for anyone to say it has all turned around is first a lie, and second it is trying to perpetuate the idea that blacks now are taking their revenge. It is race baiting at a level not see since the 1950s.

    I would agree, but I don’t think it is segregated to one racial group of people. We elected our first black president – with 52% of the vote. Some thought that would get rid of the slime merchants like Jackson and Sharpton along with the other apologizers in the media that perpetuate the race issue in American culture. Using the racist term when it is not is negligent.

    no one would ever say in Bush’s America White kids beat up blacks, or even black kids beat up whites, so why say Obama? It is trying to suggest that Obama, a black man, is somehow orchestrating this. Rush didn’t say “in this instance” Rush said in America this is now going on. Had Rush spoken of a single instance it would have been a different story.

    Who says someone wouldn’t say that? What if “they” did? I don’t listen to Rush everyday so I don’t know everything he says. If there were really some bone fide proof that he is a racist it would be out there.

    Rush is a public figure. People say all kinds of things about public figures. How about all of the talk about Hillary Clinton being a dike and Bil murdering people. How about what you call Obama on this blog.

    What about it? How about your start your own site and highlight those things? I’ve been waiting for that moment for quite some time and you seem unable to pull the trigger. What gives?
    I’ll bite on the second thing – what do I call Obama on this blog? (sounds like the punch line of a joke)

    Are you the same guy who called Joe [Biden] slow?

    Not that I remember, but it would be an accurate statement. Thanks for brining it up.

    Now you say it is a “very dangerous for anyone who expresses some type of opinion contrary to another person can be smeared in the media [and] on the internet.” I expect all good comments about Obama from now on.

    I still believe that. Let’s say you are a public figure and someone made some horrible comment about your on Wikipedia (just for example) that you molest children and have a fondness for small farm animals. The mindless media who take Wikipedia as gospel decide to run with the story and soon everyone starts believing the lie. There really is no going back from that as most people don’t pay close enough attention to things to know it’s a fraud.
    On the commenting on Obama thing, I don’t understand that. I’m sure you’ll enlighten me.

    As for the million dollar players getting out of their contracts. I know when your tone is off putting I now that you are feeling the heat. I’ll post anyway.

    This sentence is a little cryptic. I have no idea when I am “feeling the heat” so maybe you can enlighten me here so I’m aware also.

    Players work have a contract and play for a team. They have an incentive to perform well so it ups their value in contract negotiations. To break the contract all they need to do is be very vocal about their dislikes. There will be a standoff with the front office. They can then chose when they want to perform and when they want to fumble. One bad play and the message at the front office is that they make the entire organization lose money. Now think about 4-5 players who have differences with the front office. It’s a business. You’ve got to keep your employees happy.

    I think I follow your logic, but it would never happen. It’s a two way street – the player has to produce and the owner has to put the best talent on the field. If the NFL or Checketts had a problem with Rush in the group (which is sounds like they didn’t before this entire circus started) then they could have worked it out themselves. All of this other crap with fake quotes and endless posturing by the slime merchants was unnecessary in this situation. Predictable but unnecessary.

  29. You subscribe to the idea that Rush is right and the players are wrong; that the quotes on Rush are fake and fabricated; that Sharpton and Jackson are the real race baiters orchestrating something between an attack and a circus played out by a mindless media whose research prowess is the gospel of Wikipedia; that Rush has terrific business skills because talking on a radio and saying controversial stuff is a lot like running a professional football team because, after all, both are a business.

    Except reality contradicts your points

    – the quotes aren’t fake, at least not the quotes in the article that was part of the post. The direct video of Rush is provided here.

    – Rush has been ranting about race for quite a long time. Sometimes it seems everything with him is race, often seeming to point out that racism exists with Obama’s supporters.

    – Rush’s diatribes on race has made few friends. Instead of reaching out to potential friends on the other side, he’s made nothing but enemies.

    – Ranting about Gates, and ranting about Obama’s defense of Gates, has come full circle. He’s made no friends. It should be a business lesson for him about the cost of ticking people off.

    More reality intrudes on your view point:

    – MSM employees thousands of people who do real research, who make calls, who verify facts. Yet in your view all they do is go to wikipedia. That view isn’t very sophisticated.

    – MSM reporting is fact checked by everyone all of the time. There are countless conservative bloggers ready to pounce on any MSM mistake. If MSM does anything is really check their facts.

    And about Rush’s great business skills

    – You do know that Rush has absolutely no business skills, other than talking on the radio. It has nothing to do with running any business, much less running a football team.

    So why belabor the obvious with long posts stating Rush is great, Rush is business savvy? Worse, why ask players to just work for Rush regardless of how they may feel about Rush’s continuous rants on race?

    Rush’s video

  30. Evidently you don’t own a newspaper, so I’ll go ahead and give you the quote in question that really started everything and has been passed around everywhere.

    “I mean, let’s face it, we didn’t have slavery in this country for over 100 years because it was a bad thing. Quite the opposite: slavery built the South. I’m not saying we should bring it back; I’m just saying it had its merits. For one thing, the streets were safer after dark.”

    Total fabrication. Show me the video or audio on this. You can’t. It’s crap. Obviously the MSM researchers dropped the ball this time.

    My point to you that this type of thing is dangerous is who is next? What I am saying is that most journalists are lazy. They don’t vet their quotes or sources as genuine. What happened to Woodward and Berstein? It’s a sad state of affairs in my book. Obviously you disagree.

    Fox News wouldn’t even have been necessary if a portion of the population wouldn’t have been clamoring for the whole story.

    Rush is a big boy and can take care of himself. I think he has some business skills, you don’t. Great. Draw.

    I look at supposed racist comments differently than you. The video above proves nothing to me. I hear sarcasm and information – no racism. Funny, I’m in the same camp as Juan Williams. Strange bedfellows.

    I won’t belabor any long on this post, but I could because I own the site. Feel free to belabor all you want. It’s an open forum.

  31. I am not sure if the quote “slavery is a good thing” is a quote from you, or one that you read somewhere, and if it is a total fabrication what is the point of the fabrication as it relates to Rush.

    It may mean that the quote was attributed to Rush. We are speaking of the quote in your post, that was the central part of what Kiwanuka told The Daily News.

    Maybe Rush was speaking about some other quote somewhere, but within the context of your post, for you to say fake quotes, you can only mean quotes in the post or quotes in the thread, not random quotes you decide to bring in way after the fact.

    Your definition of what is included in MSM may be different than mine. My definition is relatively large city newspaper and TV outlets, including all national media: CBS, NBC, ABC, Fox, Cnn, MSNBC, WSJ, USA Today, NY Times, Wash Post, LA Times, Chicago Tribune to name the first dozen that come to mind.

    And you can bet those organizations mind their quotes carefully.

    You are free to say Rush has business skills. Fine. But you certainly can’t defend that assertion. readers will draw their own conclusions, and any reader looking for more than to just take your word for it will conclude that you cannot defend a position you state. You certainly have had the opportunity to make a cogent defense but have been unable to do so.

    Again, it is hardly important whether you feel that Rush is a racist. What matters is that players on the team he wanted to be a part owner feel it.

    You say sarcasm, but the conclusion most would draw is that Rush was picking on Obama and Obama’s America because of race. The whole thing is a rant on race — and his take on race is deeply mocking of blacks.

    Racist enough for you or are you going to make more excuses for Rush?

Leave a Reply

